old FAQs from TSR and other places ?...

• Hi all,

I'm new to the Patrician series, and I've been trying to find as much info on Patrician III as I could get my hands on... but as you already know, a lot of places are no longer available. I'm aware of Patrician World and rjosephs.de's site, but, for instance, a lot of the posts on the Patrician World boards are links to FAQs hosted on the now-extinct TSR boards, or the also-defunct Ascaron boards... so I was wondering if any of you here still have some/any of those FAQs, newbie guides, and so on...

Thank you.

Love the game so far, though I obviously still suck pretty badly :\
    Having a hard time getting more ships - shipyard is dead slow in the beginning, and while I do have a pirate-hunting crayer, I had to flee at about 50% after a meeting with Beneke's crayer + cog + hulk mini-fleet (altogether some 56 sailors to my 28)...

Pity I've only discovered this now, instead of 7 years ago... :D

• I'm dont know if there is much of those english faqs left, besides one badly spammed, unused since ages forum from which I dont remember the url of. :(

As for that problem with ships, I think its easiest if you work your way up slowly from one shiptype to next bigger and so on to minimize your disadvantage in crewmembers which you should overcome with a good fighting captain, enough cutlass and hitting your prey slightly but not too much with your shipweapons. Also try to single out your prey.