DarkStarOne....why it was a bad game, and why Gaming Minds should try making it....

• Hi everyone, I'm a noob here but have been a big fan of Partician and Port Royale Series since they both started. I am sure many of you would be aware of the DarkStarOne game that was also made by Ascaron before its demise and I wanted to go over some of the things I believe made it a flop and how I think it could be made in to a winner.....and hope the guys from Gaming Minds pay attention and give it shot, so here goes.....

Problems with DarkStarOne was the fact you were limited to one ship, although it could be customised, this was rather limited. Also the underlying game play became very repetitive and boring quickly because there weren't that many choices in what you could do in the universe they created.

So why do I believe it could be a great game, specially if made by the same guys that created Patrician and Port Royale, well I believe DarkStarOne would be more successful if it was more of a Patrician/Port Royale set in space/future.

In Port Royale we can choose many different paths, from being a pirate or bucaneer, a simple trader, a business man, or a combo of all of these things. You can buy and sell ships, steal them from other players and AI, you can take on quests/jobs for the various nations and the locals of each island/town.

So I'd like to see a game in space/future like DarkStarOne, but with the same variety of choices as we seen in Port Royale. Don't force me in to having one ship, let me buy, sell, steal ships and provide me with a huge range of different ships for hauling cargo, military action, and in all different sizes from small scouts to huge battleships....Also the idea of customizing a ship like DarkStarOne was great, but this should be extended to all the available ships, including cargo ships:

Military Upgrade/Customizations might include:
    Upgrade weapons
    Upgrade shields
    Heavy and Light weapons

Some ideas for Cargo ship upgrades: